So it was planned and it happened, not without hitches though.

The first leg over the mountains on FR 83 then down an old jeep trail into San Pablo almost ended in me being eaten alive by a pack of guard dogs. Luckily the lady who owned the land in which I ended up on came out of the house and was happy to let me through her gate.

She was nice, and honest as she told me to watch myself as her dogs circled an took individual sorties at my ankles.

Anyway, I got through and hit mostly dead ends on my planned route. Oh well, still saw some nice scenery and plenty of wildlife.

So after a late start and much exploring I ended up at Coyote State Park at around 8PM and got the tent setup just in time for the rain.

Note to self: never, ever, forget the thermarest again…

After a quick dinner of beef jerky and Jack Daniels I slept, kind of, I mostly slept in between intervals of rolling over all the rocks under the tent.

I had to be a semi-contortionist to get all parts of my body on smooth ground…

